South Dakota Beef Industry Council Holds Quarterly Board Meeting

South Dakota Beef Industry Council Holds Quarterly Board Meeting

PIERRE, SD - The South Dakota Beef Industry Council (SDBIC) held their first quarterly board meeting of the 2020 fiscal year on Monday, December 9, 2019 at the Drifters Conference Center in Ft. Pierre, SD. Laurie Johnson, newly elected SDBIC president reigned over the meeting. Johnson, a South Shore, South Dakota beef producer and member of the SD Cattlemen's Auxiliary had this to say about her new role, "I'm excited to serve our South Dakota beef producers and look forward to continuing the innovative projects currently in motion as we expand on new opportunities". Joining Johnson at the helm as Vice President is Harrold, SD beef producer VeaBea Thomas. Faulkton, SD beef producer, Stacy Hadrick will serve as treasurer.

The Executive Committee, Bylaw Working Group, Promotion Committee, and Research Committee all met to continue efforts in each respective committee. A new board member orientation was offered for incoming directors; Jeanne Johnson, SD Beef Breeds; Chris Effling, SD Beef Breeds; Lindy Harkin, SD Cattlewomen; and Jeff Kippley, SD Farmers Union.

The Board of Directors meeting followed with staff reporting on current programs and campaigns. They also discussed direction of future year activities and promotions. Joy Fiege from Eide Bailly, presented to the board and discussed the audit recently completed for SDBIC. U.S. Meat Export Federation representative, Joe Schuele, presented about the latest trends in exports and foreign markets. Committee reports were given to the full board prior to the conclusion of the meeting.

For more information about SDBIC events and projects visit or follow us on Facebook!

Posted: December 17, 2019