Build Your Base Schools Announced for 2020/2021 Season

Build Your Base Schools Announced for 2020/2021 Season

PIERRE, S.D - Athletes from 35 South Dakota high schools and communities will benefit from the third-year pilot partnership between Sanford Health, the Sanford Sports Science Institute and the South Dakota Beef Industry Council (SDBIC) as BEEF continues to power athletes all across South Dakota.  

The partnership is moving into the final year of the three-year program as it continues this fall in football programs across the state. This three-year pilot was designed for football players; however, educational material will be open to all athletes at selected schools. This year will also offer athletes a new and updated website. SDBIC Executive Director, Suzy Geppert states, “We always look for ways to improve on everything we do and feedback from athletes, parents, and coaches were telling us that they needed the site to allow easier accessibility to resources. The website also needed to be revised to accommodate our out of state partners as they entered into the program and we feel this new version will do just that.” 

This comprehensive sports nutrition and training program, utilizing beef as the premiere protein, works with athletes and their families towards building a successful sports season through a healthful lifestyle. “The Sanford Sports Science Institute is excited to see the Build Your Base program continue to grow year after year,” states Dr. Thayne Munce, Sanford Sports Science Institute. “We value our partnership with the South Dakota Beef Industry Council and appreciate the opportunity this innovative program gives us to impact the health and well-being of student-athletes and communities in South Dakota.” 

The demand for the program led to an application process. Schools completed and returned applications to the SDBIC and were selected by committee members made up of Sanford and SDBIC representatives. SDBIC Program and events coordinator, Merretta Anderson is excited about the growth of the program at a statewide level. “The design of the program does not interact with just one sector of a community. It promotes so many sectors of the food system from the producer to the retailer to the current and future consumer.  All this is done while integrating science-based research from health care professionals within our state and at a national level.” The following schools will return for the 2020/2021 season: Alcester-Hudson, Centerville, Chamberlain, Custer, Dakota Valley, Harding County, Huron, Lemmon, Mitchell, Newell, North Border, Philip, Rapid City Central, Sioux Falls Christian, Sioux Falls Lincoln, Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Timber Lake, Viborg-Hurley, Wagner, White River, Winner, and Wolsey-Wessington. Newly selected schools include: Deubrook, Dupree, Faith, Highmore-Harrold, Ipswich, Kimball, McCook, New Underwood, Rapid City Stevens, Spearfish, Sturgis, Watertown, and Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central.   

For more information on the program visit,  .

Posted: June 4, 2020