Board of Directors

The SDBIC is comprised of three representative from eight agricultural organizations: SD Livestock Auction Market Association, SD Stockgrowers Association, SD Farm Bureau Association, SD Cattlemen's Association, SD Cattlemen's Auxiliary, SD Cattlewomen, SD Beef Breeds Council, and SD Farmers Union. 

South Dakota Livestock Market Association

Christina Christensen, Kimball

Kevin Larson, Aberdeen

Justin Tupper, St Onge


South Dakota Stockgrowers Association

Gary Deering, Vice-President, Hereford

Les Shaw, White Owl

Randy Volmer, Owanka 


South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation

Josh Geigle, Wall

Kent VanderWal, Bruce

Mike Gebhart, Meadow

South Dakota Cattlemen's Association

Marshall Edleman, Willow Lake 

Carl Sanders, Oral

Todd Mortenson, Hayes

South Dakota Cattlemen's Auxiliary

Kelsey Geraets, Humboldt

Laurie Johnson, South Shore

Ashley Iliff, Sisseton


South Dakota CattleWomen

Becky Littau, Winner

Danielle Kartak, Colome  

Erin Yost, Treasurer, Gann Valley


South Dakota Beef Breeds Council

Chris Effling, Highmore

VeaBea Thomas, President, Harrold

TJ Gabriel, Ft. Pierre 


South Dakota Farmers Union

David Reis, Oacoma

Eric Sumption, Frederick

Lance Perrion, Ipswich 


National Directors

Cattlemen's Beef Promotion & Research Board

Veabea Thomas, Harold

Cory Eich, Canova

Bill Slovek, Philip

Laurie Johnson, South Shore 


Federation of State Beef Councils

Becky Walth, Glenham

Todd Mortenson, Hayes

Stacy Hadrick, Faulkton


US Meat Export Federation

Jared Knock, Willow Lake

Steve Hellwig, Bath

JT Rickenbach, Oelrichs


Meet our Staff: 

Jodie Anderson

JODIE ANderson

Executive Director 

Responsible for management of staff, producer communications and oversight of all checkoff programs, activities and functions of the South Dakota Beef Industry Council.


Shannon Schweitzer 

Office Manager

Responsible for maintaining office services by organizing office operations and procedures including general administrative duties and activities.

Merretta Anderson

Merretta Anderson 

Creative Services Manager

Responsible for all creative service duties associated with multiple programs, events and activities of the South Dakota Beef Industry Council. 


Riley Zoss

Communications Manager 

Responsible for media communications, social media and marketing materials.

Holly Swee

Holly Swee 

Director of Nutrition 

Responsible for recommending, developing, and implementing nutrition education programs and content that supports beef in a healthful lifestyle.